The Long Ball Tactic

The Long Ball Tactic Inaugural Competition

Posted in Uncategorized by mike on October 23, 2009

I’m an ordinary guy, just like you. I like to spend my Friday night’s reading The Sun’s football pages online. My laddish happy grin turned to a boffiny frown of confusion tonight, however, when I saw this:

dads sun

Seriously, what the fuck is that? Maybe it’s just me and there’s some joke I don’t get but…like…no, I’ll just ask the question again: what the fuck is that?
Is Rafa Benitez playing the part of Corporal Jones in reference to Clive Dunn’s character’s famous “Don’t panic!” catchphrase? That would be the logical conclusion, yet it looks more like he’s been photoshopped onto Captain Manwearing, with Steven Gerrard playing the part of Wilson, Jamie Carragher playing an unidentifable (to me) character and an appallingly photoshopped Fernando Torres taking the part of Pike with a Liverpool scarf.

WHY?!

Am I looking for reason where there is none? If you have an answer please leave it in the comments or something and I’ll reward the winner with a bottle of sherry and Mark Lawrenson’s phone number (just don’t ring him during Coronation Street).

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The Butcher said, on October 30, 2009 at 3:40 pm

    The best I could come up with is ‘Captain Managing’ a shit pun that took me far too long.


Leave a Reply

