The Long Ball Tactic

What it feels like to come clean about doping

Posted in Uncategorized by mike on January 30, 2012

“I realised that I was not going to be alright if I just keep avoiding it. I can’t go back and make it different. I can’t change facts. The facts are going to remain the same forever, so if I just deny that they exist I am not going to get through it. So then I had to face it and that was equally as turbulent – feelings of up and down and trying to figure out what the response was going to be. Or what was going to happen to me, I didn’t know. Some of the lawyers told me I was going to get arrested for perjury and put in prison; some of them said “just don’t do it because you will get sued.” I had to go through all that and weigh all these things that might happen to me and ultimately I came to the point where it didn’t matter what the risk was, I was going to pay the price for what I did regardless, and that was okay with me. I hope it’s not prison but if it is then at least when I get out of there, I can tell the truth and I’m going to feel better. And I will sleep better at night and won’t be worried about what I dream about or think about how things used to be because they are not going to be that way anymore, that’s it, it’s over.”

Floyd Landis

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Preet Rau said, on September 2, 2012 at 9:22 am

    I never would have imagined I would have to understand this,
    but thank goodness for the internet, right?


Leave a Reply

